7 Countries Banned from FIFA World Cup

7 Countries Banned from FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World Cup is the most prestigious international soccer competition in existence. Squads from all corners of the world come together to compete for the ultimate trophy. Here 7 Countries Banned from FIFA World Cup.

Russia became the latest country to be banned from the FIFA World Cup due to its invasion of Ukraine. Russia declared a special military operation and started a war with Ukraine, which received violent reactions from various world organizations.

FIFA declared a ban on the Russian football team from participating in the upcoming Qatar 2022 World Cup. However, this is not the first time a country has been banned from participating in the FIFA World Cup.

7 countries have been banned from the FIFA World Cup

Here we will take a look at the 7 countries which have been banned from FIFA World Cup in history.

7. Germany and Japan (1950 World Cup)

The first incident of banning countries from the FIFA World Cup is nothing if not unique.

The 1950 FIFA World Cup was the fourth edition of the FIFA World Cup. The tournament was held in Brazil from 24 June to 16 July 1950. The planned 1942 and 1946 World Cups were canceled due to World War II and as a result of World War II, Germany and Japan were banned from participating in that edition of the World Cup.

5. South Africa (1970 -1990 World Cups)

The only team to be censured for decades from World Cups remains South Africa.

South Africa under apartheid was subject to a variety of international boycotts, including in sports areas. South Africa was suspended from FIFA in 1963. FIFA President Stanley Rous went to negotiate his reinstatement.

The South African Football Association proposed entering an all-white team at the 1966 World Cup and an all-black team at the 1970 World Cup. This proposal was rejected. The South African FA was expelled from FIFA in 1976.

4. Mexico (World Cup 1990)

FIFA hit Mexico with a two-year ban because it used four players who were over the age limit in qualifying for next year’s world youth tournament. FIFA also announced that it is investigating Mexican soccer officials, who could face life bans if found responsible for the matter.

3. Chile – 1994

The Maracanazo of the Chilean national team was an incident that occurred during the soccer match between Brazil and Chile at the Maracaná Stadium in Rio de Janeiro on September 3, 1989.

Chilean goalkeeper Roberto Rojas pretended to be injured by a flare thrown by Brazilian fans but in reality, he used a blade hidden in his glove to cut himself.

Chilean goalkeeper Roberto Rojas was banned for life after a strange incident in which he faked his injury.

Rojas used a blade hidden under his glove to hurt himself. However, he claimed that the injury was due to a flare thrown by Brazilian fans during his match in 1989. Fifa investigations revealed that he had lied.

2. Myanmar (2006 World Cup)

The Myanmar football association was fined $23,500 by FIFA for failing to play a 2002 World Cup qualifying match in Iran. The match should have been played in November in Tehran but Myanmar withdrew at the last minute and withdrew from 2002.

1. Russia – 2022

Russia’s invasion of Ukraine has been in the headlines for the last few months. This act of war has been condemned by many and their football team has been banned from participating in the Qatar FIFA World Cup 2022.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *