FC Barcelona: The Team with the Most Ballon d’Or Winners

How many times was Lionel Messi nominated for Ballon d’Or?

Football is also the most popular and most watched sport around the world, especially in Europe and other islands. People want to be connected to soccer all the time. Search to learn new things about it. Today, for your convenience, Kim will talk about the team with the most Ballon d’Or winners.

What is Ballon D’Or Award?

Talking about the Ballon d’Or award, in simple words, the Ballon d’Or is the award given by the player with the most votes at the end of the year. Lionel Messi is the player with the most Ballon d’Or awards. Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or award 7 times. 

If you want to stay informed about every football match and want to see the schedule prediction alert of all football matches then you can visit soni daily sports.

team with the most Ballon d’Or winners

The team that has won the Ballon d’Or the most times is FC Barcelona. The second-most Ballon d’Or team has been Real Madrid. FC Barcelona has won 12 Ballon d’Or awards while Real Madrid has also won 12 Ballon d’Or awards.

But FC Barcelona women club has won three Ballon d’Or awards in a row, that’s why the Barcelona football club has won the most Ballon d’Or awards.

Alexia Putellas has won the Ballon d’Or in the last 2 editions from Barcelona Women FC while the third Ballon d’Or award has been won by Aitna Bonmati from FC Barcelona Women. The Women’s Ballon d’Or award was launched in 2010 for women. The women’s award started when French football was merged into FIFA. This has been happening continuously since 2016.

Eleven ‘made in Masia’

Players who have emerged from FC Barcelona’s youth system, known as La Masia, have collectively earned an impressive total of 11 Ballon d’Or awards. Out of these, Lionel Messi contributed eight, and the remaining ones were secured by Alexia Putellas and Aitana Bonmatí.

Barça players have frequently found themselves on the Ballon d’Or podium. A notable achievement occurred in 2010 when the club claimed the first, second, and third positions with Leo Messi, Andrés Iniesta, and Xavi Hernández, respectively. This era solidified Barcelona’s status as the best club globally. While Xavi and Iniesta continued to make podium appearances in the following years, they didn’t secure the top honor. Additionally, Neymar, during his time at Barça, finished third in 2015 and 2017.

Who has won the most Ballon d’Or awards?

RankPlayerBallon d’OrwinsYears won
1Lionel Messi72009, 2010, 2011, 2012,2015, 2019, 2021
2Cristiano Ronaldo52008, 2013, 2014, 2016,2017
3Michel Platini31983, 1984, 1985
4Johan Cruyff31971, 1973, 1974
5Marco van Basten31988, 1989, 1992

Who votes in the Ballon d’Or?

For the men’s Ballon d’Or award, 180 journalists from all around the world vote. Each journalist represents a different country.

They have to pick their top five players from a list of 30. They rank them based on how good they think the players are. The player they choose as the best gets five points, the second-best gets four points, and so on.

The player with the most total points wins the award. If there’s a tie, the player with more first-place votes wins. Journalists are told to focus on individual performances when voting. Winning team trophies is not as important as how well a player performs on their own.

Check Also: How many times was Lionel Messi nominated for Ballon d’Or?

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *