The Best FIFA Women’s Coach Nominees and How to vote

Who was the best Women’s Coach in the world in 2022? We will soon find out, as FIFA’s The Best awards will be handed out in February. The nominees have been announced for The Best FIFA Women’s Coach.

Here we will talk about The Best FIFA Women’s Coach award, the nominees and everything you need to know.

Nominees for The Best FIFA Women’s Coach Award

Here are the official nominees for The Best FIFA Women’s Coach Award 2022.

Sonia Bompastor

Debut seasons don’t come much better than this. After eight years working at the Lyon Academy, Sonia Bompastor made the move to the first team and to say it was a seamless transition is putting it mildly. Under her guidance, Lyon regained the Women’s Division 1 title from Paris Saint-Germain, winning all but one game and remaining undefeated.

Then came crowning glory, defeating champions Barcelona 3-1 in the UEFA Women’s Champions League final and adding to the two European titles she had won with Lyon as a player.

Bompastor’s father was a referee and she became hooked on soccer after accompanying him to matches.

Key achievements: Won the UEFA Women’s Champions League

Emma Hayes

Few people are more responsible for the growth of women’s football in England than Emma Hayes. Yet despite increased competition in recent years as a result of the game’s rise in popularity, Hayes’s Chelsea remains the number one team, winning a third successive Women’s Super League title last season and also completing the double for the second year in a row lifting the FA Women’s Cup.

Hayes, however, is not just a fantastic tactician and motivator, he is also an inspiring support for his players. “She’s been my rock; the person who made sure I was protected from everything,” Chelsea midfielder Fran Kirby said.

Hayes’ promising playing career was cut short by a serious injury at age 17 while on a skiing holiday.

Key achievements: Won the 2021-22 FA Women’s Super League ● Won the 2021-22 FA Cup

Bev Priestman

“A match made in heaven” is how Bev Priestman describes her work in Canada in 2020. She had worked with Canada’s youth organization five years earlier before returning to England. On her return, she was reunited with many of the players she had worked with in the Under-17 team who were now in the first team.

That connection worked wonders as, a year later, she led a largely unfun Canada team to a gold medal at the Women’s Olympic Soccer Tournament, knocking out Brazil and reigning world champions USA, and then beating Sweden on penalties in the final.

Priestman was Phil Neville’s assistant coach with England, helping the team reach the semi-finals of the FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019™.

Key Achievements: Concacaf W Championship Finalist

Pia Sundhage

Few people have witnessed the change women’s football has undergone over the years like Pia Sundhage, who has been in the game for 45 years.

But her long spell in soccer, first as a prolific striker and then as a renowned international coach, has not quenched her hunger to win and last year she added another major trophy to her impressive record by leading Brazil to the Copa América title. female.

Sundhage has collected three Olympic medals as a coach. Two golds with the USA (2008 and 2012) and one silver with Sweden (2016)

Key achievements: Won the 2022 Copa América Femenina

Martina Voss-Tecklenburg

“We want to play with courage, push high, move quickly between the lines and inject rhythm into the pitch,” Germany coach Martina Voss-Tecklenburg told FIFA+ last year. “Our motto is: ‘Always be active!’ – that has always been my idea of ​​football, but sometimes you succeed more, sometimes less.”

Her Germany team certainly succeeded last year by reaching the women’s EURO final, even though the ultimate prize slipped out of their hands with an extra-time loss to England.

Their progress last summer, playing in front of huge crowds for the first time, is the ideal platform to build on at the World Cup, where this young but mature team will be one of the teams to beat.

Voss-Tecklenburg won four Euros as a player with Germany and was runner-up at the 1995 FIFA Women’s World Cup Sweden™.

Key achievements: UEFA Women’s EURO 2022 finalist

Sarina Wiegman

When England searched for a new manager, with a home EURO in mind, they had a simple strategy: hire the last manager to win the tournament with the host nation.

The move couldn’t have gone better, and Wiegman was able to take a team that had reached the semi-finals of France 2019 to the next step, overseeing their triumphant campaign.

His team stormed through the group winning all their matches and scoring 14 goals without conceding, and his depth of tournament football experience proved invaluable in the harrowing quarter-final against Spain and the final against Germany, where England won both. games in extra time.

Wiegman became the first female assistant coach of a Dutch men’s professional club when she joined Sparta Rotterdam in 2016.

Key achievements: Won UEFA Women’s EURO 2022

How to vote for FIFA’s The Best Women’s Coach Award

Voting for the different categories opened on January 12 and will remain open until February 3, 2023.

To vote for FIFA’s Best Women’s Coach Award, you can visit the official FIFA website and look for the voting page for the award. On the page, you can select your preferred coach from a list of nominees and submit your vote. Voting is typically open to a select panel of experts, including national team coaches, national team captains, selected members of the media, and fans.

The panel will have the opportunity to vote for their top three choices, with the first choice receiving five points, the second choice receiving three points and the third choice receiving one point. The coach with the most points will be named The Best FIFA Women’s Coach of the Year.

Fans can vote for FIFA’s The Best awards on the official FIFA website. Fans wishing to participate in the public voting must log in to the FIFA website or register at


In this article, we discussed The FIFA Best Women’s Coach Award, its nominees, and How to vote for The Best FIFA Women’s Coach Award.

If you have any questions, Let us know in the comments below.

Source: footballarroyo

Leave a Comment