Which Teams Have Won the EFL Championship the Most?

Football goal Net

The English Championship has long been considered the most competitive league in the world. On any given day, any team can beat another, and those who are fighting relegation have been known to regularly upset promotion contenders. However, this year, it looks like the gap between the top and bottom has never been bigger.

At the division’s summit sits Leicester City. The Foxes have amassed a whopping 78 points in just 33 games and are nine points clear of second place. In fact, the top three consists of all three teams that were relegated from the Premier League last term, and all of them seem set on an immediate return to the big time. At the opposite end of the table, meanwhile, Rotherham United are propping everyone else up. The Millers are operating on a shoestring budget compared to the rest of the division and have secured just three wins all year.

Rotherham currently sit on 19 points and a relegation is all but confirmed already. In fact, bookmakers in the UK providing offers such as SkyBet free bets, which include sign-up promotions for new users, have priced the South Yorkshire club at 33/1 to one to stay in the division, an eye-watering price considering there is still a third of the season remaining.

So with Leicester City on the brink of the title, let’s take a look at the five teams that have won the division more than anyone else in history.

Leicester City

The current league leaders have already won the division the joint-most times, with seven triumphs throughout the course of their history. Should Leicester win the division this term, they will be the outright leaders with eight crowns to their name. And their rise to prominence has been nothing short of extraordinary.

Their most recent triumph came back in 2014, when 16 goals from Jamie Vardy powered them to the title, their second promotion in three seasons. Leicester finished with a mighty 102 points, nine clear of second-placed Burnley and 17 points ahead of third-placed Derby County. Unbelievably, two years later, they stunned the footballing world as they won the Premier League despite being 5000/1 outsiders and strong contenders for relegation.

In 2021, Leicester won the FA Cup for the first time in history, as well as reaching the UEFA Europa Conference League semifinals the following year. They were shockingly relegated from the top flight last term but look deadset on an immediate return.

photo 1634420528828 9cd5ee2f56f8?q=80&w=1974&auto=format&fit=crop&ixlib=rb 4.0
Which Teams Have Won the EFL Championship the Most? 3

Manchester City

Before Manchester City were the powerhouse we know today, they were consistently bouncing between England’s top two divisions. Their Abu Dhabi-backed takeover in 2008 catapulted them into one of the planet’s superpowers, leading them to seven Premier League titles and the elusive UEFA Champions League last season. But before that, they were an EFL regular.

City too have won the division seven times, tied with Leicester. However, we can’t ever imagine them slipping into the division again considering the formidable team they are today. Their most recent triumph in the EFL came back in 2002, when the deadly strike force of Shaun Goater, Darren Huckerby and Paulo Wanchope combined to net 71 goals between them. That propelled the Blues to the top spot in the division. City finished with 99 points, ten clear of second-placed West Bromwich Albion and with their Black Country rivals Wolverhampton Wanderers a further three points back.

Norwich City

With an impressive five EFL Championship triumphs to their name, Norwich City has emerged as one of the second tier’s protagonists in recent years. They have claimed the title three times in the last 20 years, more than any other club. Championship icon Huckerby was the main man again in 2004, just as he was for the Citizens two years prior, netting 14 times to help his side to the title. In 2011, Norwich secured back-to-back promotions, jumping from League One to the Premier League in just two years, but that year they finished as runners-up rather than victors.

Norwich did, however, win the title in 2019 and once again in 2021, although they suffered an immediate relegation on both occasions. This year, they find themselves in seventh place and will be aiming to secure a spot in the playoffs.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *