Bristol Rovers 2022/2023 Squad, Players, Stadium, Kits, and much more

Bristol Rovers Football Club is a professional football club in Bristol, England. They compete in League One, the third tier of the English soccer league system.

Here in this article, you will get to know about Bristol Rovers 2022/23 Players, Squad, History, Stadium, Nickname, Kits, and more.

Bristol Rovers Profile Summary

Full nameBristol Rovers Football Club
Nickname(s)The Pirates, The Gas
Founded1 August 1883; 139 years ago
GroundMemorial Stadium
Capacity11,000 (3,000 seated)
OwnerWael al-Qadi
CEOTom Gorringe
ManagerJoey Barton
LeagueEFL League One
2021–22EFL League Two, 3rd of 24 (promoted)

About Bristol Rovers

They play home games at the Memorial Stadium in Horfield, they have been competing there since 1996. They spent 89 years in the heart of North Bristol between 1897 and 1986 at Eastville Stadium. After the sale of the land, they spent ten years at Twerton Park in Bath. The club’s official nickname is “The Pirates”, reflecting Bristol’s maritime history. The club’s local nickname is “The Gas”, derived from the gas plant next to their former home, Eastville Stadium.

This nickname originally began as a derogatory term used by fans of their main rivals Bristol City but was lovingly adopted by the club and its supporters. Cardiff City and Swindon Town are considered their second and third biggest rivals. Other rivalries include; Cheltenham City, Exeter City, Forest Green Rovers, Plymouth Argyle, Torquay United, and Yeovil City. These rivalries are considered West Country Derbies and are often heated encounters. The women’s team plays in the Gloucestershire County Women’s League.

Bristol Rovers 2022/2023 players Squad?

1GKJames Belshaw
2DFJames Connolly
3DFLewis Gordon
4MFJosh Grant
5DFAlfie Kilgour
6MFSam Finley
8MFZain Westbrooke
9FWJohn Marquis
10FWAaron Collins
11FWSylvester Jasper
14MFJordan Rossiter
15MFPaul Coutts
16DFNick Anderton
17DFLewis Gibson
18FWRyan Loft
19MFHarry Anderson
20DFTrevor Clarke
21MFAntony Evans
22FWHarvey Saunders
23MFLuke McCormick
24DFSam Heal
25MFGlenn Whelan
28DFJames Gibbons
30DFLuca Hoole
32GKAnssi Jaakkola
33MFAlex Rodman
34MFJerry Lawrence
37DFBobby Thomas
44MFRyan Jones
FWJosh Coburn

Bristol Rovers Home Stadium

Rovers play their home games at Horfield’s Memorial Stadium, a ground they previously shared with Bristol Rugby. The team moved into The Mem, as it is informally known, early in the 1996-1997 season, initially as tenants, but bought it out two years later.

When Bristol Rovers were known as Black Arabs F.C. in 1883, they played their home games at Purdown, Stapleton. The following year they moved to Three Acres, the precise location of which is not known but is believed to have been in the Ashley Down area of Bristol, where they stayed for seven years. This was followed by brief stays at Schoolmasters Cricket Ground, Durdham Down, and Ridgeway.

Bristol Rovers Home Stadium

Bristol Rovers Kit

Bristol Rovers are known for their distinctive blue and white quarter shirts, which they have worn for most of their history. The current home kit consists of a light blue and white quartered shirt and white shorts, while the away kit is black and gold with the same colors as the trim. During the 2008–09 season, a special third stripe, which is black with a gold band and is a reproduction of the original black Arab jersey, was used for a single match to celebrate the club’s 125th anniversary.

The team began playing in black jerseys with a yellow band from its founding in 1883 as Black Arabs F.C. until 1885, at which time they were called the Eastville Rovers. For the next fourteen years, until 1899, the team wore blue and white hooped jerseys. These were replaced by black and white striped shirts until 1919.

Bristol Rovers Kit 2

Kit sponsorship


Bristol Rovers world rankings

52 weeks high62.9257
52 weeks low57.9301

Bristol Rovers trophies


  • Third Division/League One (Tier 3)
    • Champions (1): 1989–90
    • Runners-up (1): 1973–74
    • Promotion (1): 1969–70
  • Third Division South (Tier 3)
    • Champions (1): 1952–53
  • Southern League Division One (Tier 3)
    • Champions (1): 1904–05
  • Fourth Division/League Two (Tier 4)
    • Promotion (2): 2015–16, 2021–22
    • Play-off winners (1): 2006–07
  • National League (Tier 5)
    • Play-off winners (1): 2014–15


This article was all about Bristol Rovers and much more. Share your thoughts in the comment section.


Leave a Comment